Awards and contests

During the PCM-CMM-2015 Congress, two important scientific accompanying events will take place:
the O.C. Zienkiewicz Medal Awarding Ceremony and the J. Szmelter Award Granting.

O.C. Zienkiewicz Medal

Olgierd Cecil Zienkiewicz Medal was set on the initiative of Polish Association for Computational Mechanics.
The Medal is awarded for outstanding merit in the development of computational mechanics.

Three categories of the Medal are established:
  • the Medal for the entire activity
  • the Medal for outstanding achievements during recent 2 years
  • the Medal for foreign scientists with particular merit for the development of computational mechanics in Poland

The Medal Awarding Ceremony will take place in the Polish Baltic Philharmonic Hall in Gdańsk
during the Congress Evening, on Tuesday, September 8th, 2015 – 17:00.

J. Szmelter Award

It is the tradition of the International Conference of Computer Methods in Mechanics to honour the best paper presented by a young researcher. Starting with the CMM-2011, this award is associated with the name of Professor Jan Szmelter, who pioneered the Finite Element Method in Poland.

All participants of this joint scientific event of 3rd Polish Congress of Mechanics and 21st International Conference on Computer Methods in Mechanics (PCM-CMM-2015) who fulfil the rules listed below are eligible for the Jan Szmelter Award.

The rules of the competition for the J. Szmelter Award granted for the best research paper presented by a young author during the 3rd Polish Congress of Mechanics and 21st International Conference on Computer Methods in Mechanics (PCM-CMM-2015)

1. Any participant of the PCM-CMM 2015 is eligible for the J. Szmelter Award if he/she fulfils the following requirements:
  • is up to the age of 30;
  • is an author or a co-author of a paper presented during the Congress;
  • has presented the paper by himself/ herself and has been active in a discussion on the presented paper.
2. The criteria of selecting the best paper:
  • the originality of problem formulation and of the theoretical/numerical techniques used will be of primary importance;
  • the way of presentation and the authors participation in discussion will be taken into account during evaluation.
3. The Scientific Committee appoints the Jury of the competition. Decisions of the Jury are made by the simple majority of votes. Voting on procedural matters is public. Voting on the best paper(s) is secret.

4. The papers shall be nominated by the members of the Scientific Committee as well as by the members of the International Advisory Board. A member of the Jury cannot nominate the presented paper whose co-author is herself/himself.

5. The Jury may award two papers an equivalent prize or may not award any paper at all.

6. The decisions of the Jury will be announced at the Closing Ceremony of the PCM-CMM 2015.

In addition to the J. Szmelter Award, which is for an oral presentation, the competition for the best poster of the PCM-CMM 2015 will be carried out.
The best poster will be selected according to the same rules given above but now related to poster presentations at the PCM-CMM-2015 and the age requirement is released, i.e. each poster presentation is eligible for taking part in the competition.

The winners of the Jan Szmelter Award will be announced in the GUT Auditorium Novum
during the Congress Closing Ceremony, on Friday, September 11th, 2015 – 13:30.

Copyright © kaafaar